Canada Teams Announced for Indoor Pan Am Cup

October 3, 2017

Double win for team Canada at 2013 Indoor Pan Am Cup. Photo courtesy of Blair Shier



FHO is delighted to announce the men's and women's teams representing Canada at the Indoor Pan Am Cup in Georgetown, Guyana this October. The Indoor Pan Am Cup is the qualifier for the Indoor World Cup, taking place in Berlin, Germany in February 2018. 


Our Canadian men and women are both defending titles - both our teams won gold at the 2014 Indoor Pan Am Cup. 



Canada Men 


The men have a strong history at the Indoor Pan Am Cup - winning in 2014, 2005, and 2002. In 2014, the men battled through a tight semi-final beating Argentina 3-1, and then beat USA 4-2 in the final. 


This year's team shows a lot of experience, with 8 of their players returning from the 2015 World Cup team - Jeewanjot Bath, Tyler Branco, Lyle Fernandes, Pardeep Koonar, Devohn Noronha Teixeira, Ken Pereira, Jonathan Roberts, and Micah Teixeira.  Four of these players also played in 2011 - Jonathan, Jeewan, Tyler Branco and Micah. Another four of these players also played in 2005 - Devohn, Jonathan, Ken, and Jeewanjot, and two of these players also played in 2002 - Ken and Jeewan!  


The team also experiences a change in management with long time player Scott Sandison (played on the World Cup teams in 2015 and 2007)  taking the reigns in the head coach role. 


Team Canada


Jeewanjot Bath  (ON)

Tyler Branco  (ON)

Adrien d'Andrade  (BC)

Gurtej Dhaliwal  (ON)

Lyle Fernandes  (ON)

Joshua Kuempel  (ON)

Devohn Noronha Teixeira  (ON)

Ken Pereira  (ON)

Jonathan Roberts  (ON)

Micah Teixeira  (ON)

Pardeep Koonar (GK)  (ON)

Adam Kapasi (GK)  (ON)





Head Coach - Scott Sandison

Assistant Coach - Reggie Pereira

Manager - Vernon Gratton King

Physiotherapist - Elwin Lau

Videographer - Shankar Premakanthan




Canada Women 


The women are also defending a title, albeit with less experience on their side than the men. The women claimed a whopping 5-0 against rival USA in the semi final, then went on to beat Argentina 3-1 in the final.  


Four players remain from the Indoor Pan Am gold medal victory of 2014 - Kyesia O'Neale, Alison Lee, Shannon Pereira and spirited goaltender Kathryn (KJ) Williams.  An injured Angela Lancaster did not play in the Indoor Pan Am, but joined the team at the Indoor World Cup in 2015. 


The 2017 Canadian women's team includes a handful of teenage players looking to make their mark in their first international competition.


Head coach, John D'Souza, coached the 2014 gold medallists, and is looking for his second victory. Incidentally, Johnny also played in the 2002 Indoor Pan Am Cup, and was coached by his now assistant coach Louis Mendonca. 




Team Canada


Rebecca Carvalho  (ON)

Abby Janssen  (ON)

Angela Lancaster (ON)

Kathleen Leahy (ON)

Alison Lee  (ON)

Kyesia O'Neale  (ON)

Shannon Pereira (ON)

Sarah Powell (ON)

Michelle Weber (ON)

Madison Workman (ON)

Elizabeth O'Hara (GK)  (ON)

Kathryn Williams (GK)  (ON)





Head Coach - Louis Mendonca

Assistant Coach - Shankar Premakanthan

Manager - Kri Shier

Physiotherapist - Amanda Halls

Videographer - Justine Branco




See Team Canada's schedule and realtime results here:






Look out for games being streamed through the Pan Am Hockey site.



We wish both our teams all the very best of luck and success at the Indoor Pan Am Cup!




Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload