skip navigation

Congratulations to Field Hockey Canada's 2020 Hall of Fame Inductees

By Field Hockey Ontario, 01/06/21, 12:15PM EST


Field Hockey Ontario would like to congratulate all of the inductees to Field Hockey Canada's Hall of Fame for the Class of 2020!

We would like to give a special congratulations to Jean Major (Athlete Category) and Judy McCrae (Builder Category).

As stated by Field Hockey Canada, "Jean Major was the captain of the Hall of Fame 1983 Women’s National Team and was named internationally as a top-11 player in 1983. She was an instrumental leader and a dominant player during Team Canada’s rise to the top of the world." Jean, born in Kapuskasing, was a member of the Varsity Blues from 1976-1981 and was a league all-star in four seasons. Additionally, Jean was a member of Canada's National field hockey team from 1977-84 and was a team co-captain from 1982-84. She represented Canada in three World Cups (1979, 1981, 1983 - Silver Medal) and the 1984 Olympic Games in Los Angeles. She was named to the World Eleven (All-Star) team at the World Cup in Malaysia in 1983.

As stated by Field Hockey Canada, "Finally, in the builder category is the former Field Hockey Canada President, Judy McCrae. Judy was instrumental in guiding the amalgamation of the women’s and men’s associations to form Field Hockey Canada and was the leader in designing the women’s national team program which led to their outstanding performance in the 1980s." Judy was the Director of Athletics for 14 years at the University of Waterloo and spent 37 years working in the department. Judy also has two trophies named after her: OUA women's golf and U SPORTS field hockey.

You can learn more about all of this year's inductees on Field Hockey Canada's website.